Do or Diet

December 24, 2010 at 11:09 am (general life)

Dieting is a strange thing. In a way, it’s tremendously easy. All one has to do is sit around (and exercise a bit) and one becomes magically thinner.

In another way, it’s almost impossible. Your body and mind need food, so it’s hard to judge what the right amount is. More importantly, both body and mind are designed to maintain whatever weight you’re at, so the instant you lose even 0.1 of a kilo your body and mind both scream at you that you’re dying.

If I’m very very good for the next eight days, I’ll end the year in the healthy weight range.

If I streeeeettch our food and petrol, and put off one of our Christmas presents, CJ and I will be able to make our savings goal for the year.

My two goals this year were to get in the healthy weight range (and stay there for twelve months), and to do better financially (which we sort of have, but there were a LOT of travel expenses).

If I don’t achieve the healthy weight range and get the last hundred dollars into our savings account in the next eight days, it will be as if everything I’ve worked so hard toward from day to day to week to month this year has been pointless. My greatest fear this year has been that I wouldn’t make those two goals.

It’s harsh, but that’s how I roll.

3 Comments

  1. Ann said,

    “If I don’t achieve the healthy weight range and get the last hundred dollars into our savings account in the next eight days, it will be as if everything I’ve worked so hard toward from day to day to week to month this year has been pointless”

    I know I dont need to tell you that that is an irrational thought. You are actually allowed to make excuses for yourself when things dont go to plan. That last hundred dollars went towards valuable things – like your cats vet bills, having an operational vehicle so you and hubby could earn money etc.

    Goals are their as incentives, not as pre-ordained events that will result in a cataclysm if they dont eventuate remember – this is the real world and not a fantasy novel after all.

  2. Ben (Crispin) said,

    “It’s harsh, but that’s how I roll.”

    Now would probably be a good time to remind you that you’re clinically insane…

  3. Louise Curtis said,

    Ann: I’ve compromised a lot on those goals. 8 days of pain for a win isn’t much.

    Ben: hence. . . well, all the above.

    Felicity/Louise

Leave a Reply

