Problem solved – with horrible death

August 7, 2010 at 10:53 am (Writing Ranting)

I had one of those days yesterday when I couldn’t look at the book I’m working on. Some would call it writers’ block. I’m lucky, because there was a simple reason: I didn’t want to make the dad bad. It messed up a lot of things (particularly since the whole island is so small they’d all notice Dance’s injuries and be culpable), and (since no-one’s ever physically abused me or anyone I love) didn’t resonate at all.

At 2am this morning, though, I found the solution. Dance is a twin – an identical twin, and her sister is dead. Naturally, being dead, Dance’s sister is perfect in every way, and gives Dance a foil she can never live up to.

I often think of my own sister as a little like who I would have been if I wasn’t so messed up – exaggerate that feeling (by making the sister the same age, and dead), and I have something I can use to drive Dance to feel and do everything she does in the book – AND resolve that feeling in the end, as her dad stands by her side against the pirates.

Voila! When in doubt, kill someone.

2 Comments

  1. Paige said,

    that works, I so thought you were gonna say you kilt you little darlings 🙂

  2. Felicity Bloomfield said,

    It’s funny you should say “kilt” instead of “killed” – I saw a bagpiper today. I’ll be writing about it on http://twittertales.wordpress.com tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

