Hope is the hardest drug to kick

June 18, 2010 at 6:03 pm (Mental illness)

Scientists have pointed out that emotions and brain chemicals are so closely linked that one can lead to another – eg taking a pill in the morning can cause you to yell at your dad that night (you honestly believe it’s because he burnt dinner, but it’s really because of the pill).

A mental disorder means the chemicals are screwed up. So I work really hard not to yell at people when I’m sure they deserve it – because they’re not the real reason I feel bad (almost always).

But when I get incorrect positive emotions, it really sucks.

Last night I was so sure Publisher B would call today that I found it hard to sleep. I was aware it was irrational, but I couldn’t shake the feeling.

And so here we are, at 6pm. Unsurprisingly, nothing happened.

Again.

2 Comments

  1. Ben (Crispin) said,

    My geekiness compels me to point out that the thing that you describe is known technically as an ‘Attribution Effect’ – some physical effect causes an particular sensation and your brain, not understanding why, invents a subconscious reason for it.

    i.e. If you give people Amphetamines and don’t tell them (it USED to be legal…), they tend to interpret the… ah… EFFECTS as guilt and start apologising for things.

  2. Paige said,

    just what kind of pills are you taking?

Leave a Reply

