More than ten percent done, but less than one-seventh

May 23, 2010 at 5:11 pm (general life)

Today is day three. It’s 5pm and I’m not letting myself have dinner for another hour and a half.

I’m cold, shaky on my feet, my stomach won’t stop rumbling, and I’m angry. Very angry.

After today is done, there’s still eighteen days of pain to go.

For the record, today I’ve eaten cereal (Nut Feast), a few salted nuts, some grapes, an avocado ham and cheese sandwich, and two corn thins with avocado. I intend to eat a mandarin, some baked sweet potato, and a ham and mushroom souffle before the day is done, plus maybe some more nuts or a glass of milk.

The first week of a diet is the hardest, but generally it’s also the most numerically rewarding.

It had better be.

2 Comments

  1. Paige said,

    I thought avocado was fattening and high in cholesterol?

    I spoke with a friend yesterday that is doing some kind of 11 days on and 3 days off kind of diet. Says he has lost 30 pounds and he did look like it.

  2. Felicity Bloomfield said,

    Avocado is high in fat, but it’s good fat – “essential fat” in science lingo. Same with nuts. Cutting them out would do more harm than good. Avocado is probably the only super food that tastes good. (And I’ve lost a kilo in the last three days, which is verging on too much – so clearly it’s not slowing down my weight loss, either.)

    My problem with days off is that I can gain two kilos in a single day. The best thing for me is to be superstrict for a week/two, then pretty darn strict for another week or two (like, 10 or 20 grams a day), then attempt “moderation” for several weeks, then repeat. Hopefully one day I’ll get good at actual and habitual moderation.

    Felicity

Leave a Reply

