Fish Politics

April 2, 2010 at 10:19 pm (general life)

I have three types of fish: a siamese fighting fish (which isn’t interested in smaller fish), two neon tetras, and three zebra danios. (I wrote about them all yesterday at http://twittertales.wordpress.com.) I’m constantly worried about them, and I miss them when I don’t go and say hello every few hours. Presumably both effects will soon wear off.

The danios are bullies. Two have been fighting each other (definitely biting – and jerking as they are bitten) and at least one has bitten the fighting fish’s tail more than once. The neon tetras are much smaller, and they’re the only ones that don’t seem happy (despite their relatively peaceful existence), but I think I now (thanks to Google) know how to help them (it’s a pH thing – and they want more of their own kind, which I’m happy to do).

I haven’t seen fish fight before. Being accustomed to cats, I just want to reach into the tank and give them a good slap.

Leave a Reply

