So You Think You Can Diet

February 23, 2010 at 1:28 am (general life, recipes)

I’m cautiously optimistic. The scales today said 78.3 kilos. It’s not great, but it’s not awful. They also read 77.6 at one point, but that seems a little implausible so either I accidentally cheated (more than the acceptable level of cheating, I mean), or there was a leak in the space-time continuum. Either way, I’ll weight a few days before weighing myself again.

My partner and I got bits of extra work which added up to about $150, which really takes the pressure off. We still can’t fix either of our cars (yet) but if I need to do something stupid we can go out to dinner.

Yesterday we went to a friend’s place for dinner and he made salad – usually a favourite of mine (I’ve even blogged about it). But there was chicken (my newest, shiniest food-related phobia). And vegetables. I was so hungry I was barely speaking (too difficult to be civil so catatonia was better) but I couldn’t face one bite. So I ate Maccers (which, since it isn’t technically “food” was both edible and a handy way to express my self-destructive urges).

Another friend who was there is obsessed with diseases – the more horrible, the better. He thinks I have living parasites in my gut (based on the fact I got food poisoning in Indonesia in January and haven’t 100% recovered). So I’m going to the doctor today.

Why couldn’t I get the awesomely cool kind of parasite that causes massive weight loss, dagnammit?

3 Comments

  1. Ben (Crispin) said,

    “I’ll weight a few days before weighing myself again.”

    Was that an awful pun or brilliant Freudian Slip…?

    • felicitybloomfield said,

      brilliant Freudian slip

  2. Ben (Crispin) said,

    Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

