Further Naked Calisthenics

February 21, 2010 at 3:35 am (Mental illness, recipes)

I discovered a new trick on the scales today, and allegedly now weigh 77.9 kilos. I can live with that lie.

Church was unusually difficult today. It was one of those mornings when I wish God would become corporeal so I could punch him in the face. At the same time, I felt he was the only one in the room who caught the slightly sarcastic edge to the songs. So it was like being tortured, but feeling okay about it.

I just found out I won a GPS-type thingy in today’s Australian Sun Herald Travel section – for a teensy bit of non-fiction writing I did. That’s pretty cool – and worth $450. Gotta love that.

Tonight I’ll be eating a potato bake, which isn’t at all healthy, but is delicious.

Peel and slice about a kilo of potatoes, stick them in a greased lasagna tin with chopped bacon and mushroom in the middle layer, then mix a cup of cream with some basil or whatever herbs you like, and pour it over the top so it trickles through. Sprinkle cheese on top of that, then cook it for about an hour with aluminium foil over the top – and a further 10 minutes or so without the al foil (I’m hazy on times and temperatures – it’s basically “Very hot, for ages”. C’est les potatoes).

3 Comments

  1. Ann said,

    So what’s the scales trick?

  2. Louise Curtis said,

    You get on really slowly, so it basically gives up before you truly reach your full weight, and it stays at a lesser weight. I know for certain it’s super dodgy, because I tested it later and proved that I can weigh in the 30s. So that, sadly, was conclusive.

    Felicity

  3. Ann said,

    Cool. Now when I’m feeling particularly fat I’ll have a solution! 🙂

Leave a Reply

