Pain and Zucchini

February 18, 2010 at 2:54 am (recipes)

Woke three hours early with an intense headache. Hate the world. Panadol worked, though, so I’m down to just fatigue and hunger. Tomorrow I’ll weigh myself, so I’ll be either cheerful or homicidal. (I have been enjoying the lift in my self respect now I’m not eating 1-2 family-size packs of junk a day.)

Zucchini Soup (I’ll move on to other vegies soon):

3 zucchini

2 onions

1 carrot

2 potatoes

15g margarine

3 c water

1 chicken stock cube, dissolved in some of the water.

Melt the margarine, and put all the vegies in a pot with it (chopped, obviously) for 50 minutes, stirring every so often.

Add water and stock, bring to the boil and simmer for 20 minutes.

Puree and stir in sour cream (if you want).

Serve hot or cold sprinkled with chives.

3 Comments

  1. Steff Metal said,

    I believe they call this diet “the zucchini bender”

    Do you have a garden where you can grow zucchini? If so, seriously give it a go. They’re one of the most robust plants to grow, and have one of the biggest harvests. I have three plants at the moment which will yeild someting like 50-100 zucchini at the end of the season.

    Good luck with everything, and I really hope you stop feeling horrible soon. Your recipes so far sound delicious!

    • felicitybloomfield said,

      “Zucchini bender” is a good description.

      Don’t have a garden yet, but I did have some home-grown tomatoes this year (before the plant died horribly, poor thing). I love the idea of growing my own food – I even discovered a peach tree in a nearby park and decided to claim it as my own. In future, one of my chief ambitions is to have a lemon tree. I love lemon juice on my pancakes, and lemonade to drink – and the brilliant yellow makes a winder garden awesome.

  2. Steff Metal said,

    It’s uncanny the incredible joy you get just from eating food you grew yourself, isn’t it? I have a tiny garden, with tomatoes and potatoes and beetroot and basil and rosemary and rhubarb and lettuce and courgettes which are quickly entangling themselves across the entire lawn, much to the lawnmover’s delight. I wish we could have fruit trees, but the owners of our home have planted one of those “easy care” gardens, with useless grasses and rose bushes.

Leave a Reply

