Had a great title, but forgot it

January 31, 2010 at 1:46 pm (general life)

One of the things that has changed since I married is that I’ll almost definitely have kids one day. (When I had a two-month engagement, a lot of people thought I’d be having kids about 6 months after the wedding, which both amused and disturbed me – like so much in life.)

Watching “Torchwood” (written by seriously depressed types with an urge to convince the world how depressing it truly is), and the various horrible things that could, perhaps, happen to my kids some day (except, probably, for the alien bits) made me realise that I DON’T want to keep my kids safe. Not as a first priority, anyway. I want to teach them that they can handle anything. Absolutely anything. Death, murder, assault, broken hearts, debt, mental illness, their own worst failures – anything.

Of course, I’ll probably panic and lock them in a padded room from birth.

But the sentiment is there.

1 Comment

  1. Ben (Crispin) said,

    Right. Here’s the thing: they CAN’T handle anything – certainly not death, murder, assault, broken hearts, debt, mental illness, and their own worst failures.
    Human beings are incredible fragile and pathetic creatures – hence the whole protectiveness thing.

Leave a Reply

