Paranoia Girl is so right

January 28, 2010 at 11:46 am (Mental illness)

I emotionally crashed on Tueday. It was Australia Day, so my partner and I chose to celebrate our anniversary mainly on that day, with our traditional picnic, plus seeing “Sherlock Holmes” (which I reviewed over at http://twittertales.wordpress.com) and going and eating Chinese for dinner.

I freaked out for no reason around 11am, and stayed freaked out all day, unable to make basic decisions or generally enjoy the enjoyableness of the day. It sucked a lot.

But, setting aside my mentalness, I feel pretty good. My renewed peacefulness and excitement about God is still there (under the public crying and urges to pull out my own eyeballs). Today I bought loads of brightly-coloured booze for my birthday, and also didn’t eat my usual pile of chocolate. I had a milo, which is practically fasting for me. I keep a careful eye on my drinking, because (clearly) I have an addictive personality. Thus far, however, I can use small amounts of alcohol (like one or two standard drinks – strictly AFTER work) as a substitute for large amounts of lollies (like 300 grams).

Just now I wrote a short story (a tad desperately, since I REALLY need to finish a twittertale ready for February 1, and it isn’t happening). It’s not a happy tale (it’s white trash crime), but finishing a new story always makes me feel good, which generally leads to more writing.

I’m gonna go attempt a 7-day twittertale, just to buy myself some time.

First – more booze. (I predict a problem in the future. . . but it IS really good for switching off my editor side.)

2 Comments

  1. Deanna Schrayer said,

    Wow! What a time you’re having Felicity. First, I’d like to apologize for not visiting in so long – I’m ashamed. Glad to hear you’ve finished a short story. That is a great feeling, isn’t it? I’m supposed to be writing right now, but the muse has gone out – maybe for a drink? I hope so because that way, whenever he decides to return, he should have a good tale for me to transcribe. 🙂
    I know exactly what you mean about the addiction thing; it seems to be a commonality among us writers.

    • felicitybloomfield said,

      Hi Deanna, lovely to see you again. I hope your muse came back and treated you to an evening of creative revelry. I DID finish a whole (mini) twittertale, which will air in the first week of February.

Leave a Reply

