The horror! The horror!

November 7, 2009 at 11:02 pm (general life)

A quote I stumbled across from someone on twitter:

No matter what side of the argument you are on, you always find people on your side that you wish were on the other. Jascha Heifetz

Last night I had a nightmare that someone I knew wrote a really really awful bestseller. I could almost stomach that, but then they wrote three more in a week, and each one was a bestseller.

AAAAAAAARRRRRGGGGG!

*pause to return to reality*

I long ago realised I’d skipped the “successful adulthood” phase and gone directly to bitterness and jealousy.

Anyway. . .

Yesterday I wisely decided to stay home from a cousin-in-law’s 18th birthday party in Sydney. I felt awful about it – I really like his whole family – but it was definitely the right choice. (Family events scare me. 18-year olds scare me. Leaving my house for more than 5 hours scares me. Etc)

The fabulous thing about cancelling large events (once the self-loathing passes) is that suddenly a whole day stretches out before you, full of potential. I cleaned the cat’s litter tray (a stellar achievement), did various other minor chores, and did nine and a half hours of writing. Most of that time was spent changing one of my books from third person to first person. It’s a wonderful feeling to have finished that (including the knowledge that it now needs HEAPS of editing that it didn’t need before. I like editing from a new angle – and first person is definitely the right form for this book).

I’m pleased with the status of my novels at the moment: I have one book extremely late from a publisher I have a good relationship with; another completely different book specifically designed for another publisher (who has it right now); and a third which I’ve decided is better suited to small publishers (which hopefully means it’ll be much easier to get published. . . we’ll see), which I’ll be posting off tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

