Nerds of Today

September 22, 2009 at 11:54 pm (general life)

A twelve-year old student recently asked me what my favourite TV show is. After THOROUGHLY discarding “The United States of Tara” (too much sex), “Being Human” (too much violence), “Bones” (too much gore) and “Buffy” (too old for today’s kids) I said, “The Big Bang Theory”.

“I don’t watch that one. What’s it about?” she said.

Breathing a little easier (since the Big Bang TALKS about sex so much), I said, “It’s about a group of nerds. It’s really funny, because it’s so much like my nerdy friends.”

This was the point at which the difference in our generations and social context became abruptly clear.

“Oh,” she said, “that’s a bit mean, isn’t it? Calling your friends nerds?”

I tried to gently explain that

(a) all my friends KNOW they’re nerds

(b) all my friends PREFER the company of other nerds

(c) all my friends are PROUD of being nerds

(d) I am a nerd

It was clear she didn’t believe me. She assured me I wasn’t really a nerd, and I took it as a compliment. Clearly, the discussion was causing her deep confusion bordering on distress. I could see her wondering why I’d make such an apalling claim to nerdity.

“Am I a nerd?” she said.

“No,” I said. “Absolutely not.”

She was terribly relieved, and we continued with our lesson.

4 Comments

  1. Ben (Crispin) said,

    So wait… are you saying that you think that I’m a….?

    SO HURT RIGHT NOW!

  2. Ann said,

    I AM NOT A NERD!!!!!!!!!! (well, I keep telling myself that anyway).

  3. felicitybloomfield said,

    Nerds may have “unique” social skills, but they’re smart. And they often earn heaps of moolah. What’s not to love?

  4. Rohan said,

    Reminds me of this:

    http://laughingsquid.com/nerd-venn-diagram-geek-dork-or-dweeb/

    Yay for unique social skills :p

    Rohan

Leave a Reply

