Paranoia Girl. . . and fire

September 14, 2009 at 12:25 am (funny, general life)

It’s early Spring here in Australia, and my feet were cold. I decided to warm them up with five minutes in front of my heater (which glows red-hot – highly innefficient but LOOKS warm). My cat, Ana, was sitting watching me (as she does. I have mentioned previously that she has a brain the size of half a dried pea). I pointedly put my feet very close to the heater. (“MY heater, you overfed fiend.”)

Undeterred, little Ana slid between my feet and the heater. Being soft-hearted, I let her. After a few seconds, I happened to notice smoke rising from the cat’s far side.

Yep. . . my cat had set herself on fire.

I immediately grabbed her (“Prreow?”) and hastily patted out her burning fur. She gave me an offended look, and sauntered away. The house now smells strongly of burnt fur.

I have a feeling there’s some kind of moral here. . .

Mmm. . . NICE and warm. . .

Mmm. . . NICE and warm. . .

4 Comments

  1. Ann said,

    So now she has a burnt spot to match her bald spot?

  2. Felicity said,

    Yep – and on opposite sides, too.

    (The bald spot is because she’s shedding so bad she gets knots.)

  3. Paige said,

    see no good deed goes unpunished.

    glad she is ok

  4. Ben (Crispin) said,

    Where does Paranoia Girl come into it?

    Also, I’d just like to mention again how brave you are, admitting that you SET YOUR CAT ON FIRE here on the internet for everyone to see…

    (Oh, and Moral wise? how ’bout: “Cats are really, really dumb”….
    Has a ring to it.)

Leave a Reply

