Every dog. . .

August 12, 2009 at 12:42 pm (Uncategorized)

So I’m doing a bit of overnight babysitting. It’s been fun playing house, and I get paid. The household has two small dogs, but they haven’t bothered me.

One evening I bought a pack – 150 grams – of unshelled pistachios. (Unshelled so they’d take longer to eat, and distract me from the lack of multiple kilos of chocolate.) I ate about half that night, felt a bit sick from eating so much (and licking the salt off the shells), and eventually stopped shovelling them in. I folded over the top of the pack and placed it on my bedside table (the opening facing down so its own weight held it semi-sealed) to eat during the rest of the week.

The next morning I took the kid to school and left the pistachios beside my bed.

When I returned later that day, the pistachios were gone – as if they’d never existed. Not a crumb remained on the table or floor. The plastic packet had also vanished – so thoroughly that I looked around for it  (and found no trace of it anywhere). All that remained of the entire pack was two pistachio shell halves – both licked clean of salt.

Leave a Reply

